County still owns Bingham County Historical Museum

Although the Bingham County Historical Society and the Bingham County Historical Society have merged, the county retains ownership of the building at 190 N. Shilling Ave. and its contents.
"We will lease the building and its contents for $1 a year for five years," executive director Merlin Wright told members of the Society on Wednesday. "That's all the law allows but it can be renewed after that if the commissioners approve."
Since it retains ownership, the county will do major upkeep of the building and grounds, Wright said. It will also pay for insurance. The Society will be responsible for minor upkeep.
The building was built in 1905 for John G. and May Brown who moved here from Tennessee complete with servants, chauffeur and Chinese cook. The county took ownership of the home in 1974. From 1927 to that time it was the property of Stewart Hoover American Legion Post 23.
Steve Camphouse, the last remaining member of the museum board, thanked Wright and the Historical Society for taking charge of the facility.
Members of the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers will continue to act as docents of the museum, said president Becky Young. However, she said, they won't be the only organization involved. In fact, Wright said, the Sons of the Utah Pioneers have become sustaining members of the Society.
Historian Trudy Kirkpatrick offered some thoughts of ways to re-introduce the museum to the community.
"We're looking to decorate the museum for Christmas and show what we have," she said. "We will seek monetary donations and possibly invite the community to donate family ornaments they are no longer using."
She said Society members and the community at large will be invited to join a committee to put together that December open house later this month.
In another matter, Society members approved the nominations of several people to become members of the board. A few long-serving members have stepped aside.
Nominated for president is Marty Ellis with Cloris Brown as first vice president and Billie Cullimore as second vice president. Jeri McBride was nominated as secretary with Young as assistant historian.
Nominated as board members are Renae Neff, Bob Hudson and Wendy Gardner. The election is scheduled at the next Society meeting on Nov. 7. It be at 6:30 p.m. at the Bingham Senior Citizens Center.