Two seek spot on Basalt-Goshen-Firth cemetery board, only race among 10 districts

BLACKFOOT — Bingham County has 10 cemetery districts.
The state tax commission approves these districts and makes sure they do not overlap, said Bingham County Election Director Marlene Jensen.
Cemetery districts in Bingham County are Aberdeen, Basalt-Goshen-Firth, Groveland, Moreland, Riverside-Thomas, Riverview, Shelley, Springfield-Sterling, Taylor and Woodville.
Two cemetery districts are shared between two counties. The Taylor board consists of two members from Bonneville County; one from Bingham. The Woodville board consists of two members from Bingham County; one from Bonneville.
Because these districts need money to operate, each cemetery district applies to the state tax commission for the ability to tax.
Because cemetery districts are taxing entities, each district has a three-person board. The board members oversee spending money. The clerk keeps the records; the sexton maintains the cemetery.
Levies for the cemetery districts are based on property values within the district. If a person's property is within a cemetery district, a specific mil levy is designated for that district.
"Not all properties are within a cemetery district," Jensen said.
A person can choose in which cemetery he/she would like to be buried, she said. The person does not need to live in the cemetery district in which he/she would like to be buried.
Each cemetery establishes its own fees. Those include the price set by each board to open and close a grave and/or the price set if the person being buried lives outside the cemetery district.
Cemetery boards must be bonded. By law, each board is required to have one meeting each quarter during the year.
The board can have more meetings if they want to, Jensen said. All meetings are open to the public.
Elections for cemetery and fire districts are scheduled for November elections in odd-numbered years.
This year, incumbent Scott Jolley will face Judith Jolley for a seat on the Basalt-Goshen-Firth cemetery board.
Bingham County has three fire districts—Aberdeen, Blackfoot-Snake River and Shelley-Firth.
In the Blackfoot-Snake River fire district, David Williams will face Aaron Moon.
The whole of Bingham County forms one ambulance district. Bingham County commissioners are the board members of this district.