Blackfoot Chamber honors community's top seniors

BLACKFOOT — Members of the Greater Blackfoot Chamber of Commerce honored 26 area high school seniors on Wednesday.
"These are the best of the best," said Chamber president Derek Preece. "We look forward to what they are going to accomplish in the future."
Each of the students received a certificate and a keepsake in recognition of their high school success.
Representing Blackfoot were Camille Norton, Collin Rockwood, Hanna Miller, Isaac Hong, Dallin Evans, Daniel Burt, Elise Moser, Kevin Sommerorn, Logan Christiansen and Taylor Sandow.
Those honored from Snake River were Aubrey Kofford, Jake Ryan Arbon, Jared Harper Smith, Jordan Stewart, Sara Constance Asmus, Katie Nicole Mathis, Kyra Gamble, Hailey Jan Bisheimer, Layne Harper and McKenzie Rae Bench.
Chelsea Barzee and Wendi Cameron received honors for their work at Independence Alternative High School.
And, Cullen Fights Over, Justice De Pinerez, Ressary Ridley and Sadee-Ann Nappo represented Shoshone-Bannock High School.
In other business, past president Bart Brown made an appeal for donations to be used to buy fireworks for the annual Fourth of July celebration. He noted that the Chamber provided funds for a 12-minute show synchronized with music last year. And, he said, Chamber board members hope to equal or better that fireworks show this year.
Later in the day Chamber members gathered at the Community Council of Idaho offices on Pacific Street to learn more about that organization.
Executive director Irma Morin noted that it began as the Idaho Migrant Council in 1971, but now has services available to those in the agriculture industry who need help. Among those services are education, housing, health and employment assistance.
"We help anyone who has had an agriculture income in the past 24 months and meets income guidelines," Morin said.
Council employees are involved in the community in many ways, Morin added.
"As an organization it's important that we be involved in the communities we serve," she said of the Council's membership in the Chamber.