BPAC director honored with Achievement Award

POCATELLO — Susan Mann, programming director of the Blackfoot Performing Arts Center, described herself as speechless.
"For those of you who know me, I'm speechless and that's shocking," Mann said as she accepted the Hall of Fame award at the 13th Annual Idaho State Journal Business & Achievement Awards on Wednesday.
Mann, a longtime music teacher at Blackfoot High School, spearheaded the campaign to build the BPAC during the mid-1990s. She often told her students they would be the ones to see it come to fruition.
But the facility opened much sooner and Mann took her position in 2007. The BPAC is in use 300 days a year.
"It's a great asset to the community and a great sense of pride," Mann said shortly after accepting her award.
She expressed pride that it is accessible to both the community and the schools. She credited Allen Tripp, the theater manager, as an important element in her success. "We're a great team together.
"You don't do a project like this unless you have a great anchor at home," she said in recognizing her husband Danny's role in her receiving the award.
"I'm totally shocked," Mann said. "I knew Tish (Dahmen, executive director of the Blackfoot Chamber of Commerce) had submitted my name under the non-profit category."
Mann continued that she was impressed with the other nominees in that category.
"It's a great award (that came) because all of Southeast Idaho supports it and the events that are there," she said.
"This is really a great honor for her," said Danny Mann. "She's always very positive about everything she does."
Mann was one of nine award winners. She was one of five of the 33 nominees from Bingham County. The others were Leonard Martin, publisher of the Morning News; Kathy Tauscher of Kathy and Co.; Alonzo Coby of Coby Design; and Tamara Dance of Dance Designs, Inc.
"They have made our corner of the world a better place to live," Dahmen said of all 33 nominees. Other sponsors of the awards, which included Farm Bureau Insurance, the Pocatello Chamber and the ISJ, echoed those thoughts.
Award winners included John Bob of Simplot in the Industry/technology category; James Denton, principal of Tyhee Elementary in the Education: K12 category; Herb Maschner, director of the Idaho Museum of Natural History in the Education: University category; Phil Meador, a local auto dealer in the Retail/service category; Debra Hemmert of the South East Idaho Action Agency in the Non-profit/goverment category; Joselin Matkins of the Sagebrush Land Trust in the Extraordinary under 40 category; Jody Lewis of Allstate's Idaho Center in the Professional category; and DaNae Young of the Pocatello Women's Cycling Spinderella Ride in the Volunteer category.