Candidates can file for office starting today

BLACKFOOT – Bingham County residents who are interested in running for county public offices can pick up their Declaration of Candidacy packets in the County Clerk’s Election office at the courthouse in Blackfoot.
Today is the first day to file. Candidates may do so from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The filing period closes at 5 p.m. on Friday, March 6.
The names of qualified candidates will be on the ballot for the Primary Election on Tuesday, May 15.
There are two Bingham County commissioner seats open. The District 1 seat, currently held by the retiring Cleone Jolley is for a two-year term. The District 3 seat, currently held by A. Ladd Carter, is for a four-year term.
To be eligible to run for county commissioner, each candidate must be 21 years old and a U.S. citizen. The candidate must be a resident of Bingham County for one year prior to the election and must have resided with the boundaries of the district for which he/she would serve 90 days prior to the primary election.
Also on the primary ballot will be the Bingham County Prosecuting Attorney, currently held by Scott Andrew, and the Bingham County Sheriff , currently held by Dave Johnson. Both positions are for a four-year term.
To be eligible to run for prosecuting attorney, each candidate must be 21 years old, a U.S. citizen, a licensed attorney for the state of Idaho and a qualified elector in Bingham County.
The position of sheriff requires that the candidate be 21 years old, a U.S. citizen and a resident of Bingham County for at least one year prior to the election.
All party precinct committeemen for each of the 26 voting precincts in Bingham County will also be up for election.
Federal and state legislative positions will also be on the ballot.
Since the acceptance of the latest redistricting ap, the entirety of ‘Bingham County will be in a single legislative district, District 31.
Two seats as representatives in the Idaho House will be up for election on two-year terms. Reps. Dennis Lake and James Marriott are currently our representatives.
State Senator Steven Bair will be up for re-election for a four-year term.
Declaration of Candidacy forms for these offices can be obtained from the Idaho Secretary of State’s office. Forms are available online at .
For more information regarding filing for county positions, contact the county clerk’s office at 782-3164.