Diggers hold off Panther comeback 48-44 in OT

THOMAS — Desmond Miles scored five points in the final 64 seconds of overtime to lift Sugar-Salem to a 48-44 non-conference boys' basketball victory over Snake River on Tuesday.
Miles' 3-point basket with 1:04 remaining in the extra session gave Sugar-Salem (9-5) a 43-42 lead. His two free throws with 3.3 seconds left sealed the deal.
Sugar-Salem dominated the first half, building a 24-11 lead on Zach Jeppson's trey with 4:46 left in the second quarter. The Diggers led 26-14 at halftime.
"In the first half they were more physical than we were," said Snake River coach Bob Coombs. "They had more intensity and we let them wander wherever they wanted to."
The second half was markedly different. The Panthers (6-6) opened the third quarter with a 9-2 run and trailed just 31-27 at the end of the period.
They then used a 12-3 run at the start of the fourth quarter to take a 37-34 lead with 2:40 left in regulation play. They had a 38-36 lead with 45 seconds left when Wyatt Wray hit one of two free throw attempts. Devon Smith's basket with 30 seconds left tied the score at 38-38.
Snake River had the last shot, with Coombs calling a timeout with 6.8 seconds to go to set it up. But the attempt went nowhere.
Sugar-Salem scored the first basket, but the Panthers got baskets from Jacoby Johnson and Shane Parkinson to lead 42-40 with 2:23 remaining in the overtime.
Miles' trey was the Diggers' last basket. They connected on five of six free throw attempts from there. The Panthers, meanwhile, made just two-of-five free throws down the stretch.
Six-foot-five Jason Hawkes led Sugar-Salem with 15 points. Smith had 11 and Miles finished with 10.
Parkinson led Snake River with 13 points. Andres Garza, Johnson and Brad Coombs each added seven.
"In the second half we matched their intensity when we decided to put a body on them," coach Coombs said.

Sugar-Salem 15 11 5 7 10 - 48
Snake River 9 5 11 13 6 - 44
Sugar-Salem - Spackman 6, Zhao 1, Miles 10, Jeppson 3, Hawkes 15, Small 2, Smith 11.
Snake River - Garza 7, Porter 1, Johnson 7, Rushton 6, Coombs 7, Parkinson 13, Wray 3.