District 55 has new teachers, administrators

BLACKFOOT — There are several new administrators and teachers in the Blackfoot School District this year.
At Blackfoot High School, John Pearce has taken the reigns as principal and Lori Kay has been hired as an assistant principal alongside Wes Jensen. Counselor Vicki Johnson will also serve as dean of students.
Pearce comes to Blackfoot from Arkansas where he was most recently principal at Maumelle Middle School. Kay recently served as the director of the Flexible Learning Center alternate high school program in Sergeant Bluff, Iowa.
Former BHS Principal Blaine McInelly took a medical leave of absence earlier this year and retired at the end of the last school year. Assistant Principal Tom Harrington also retired at the end of last year.
At Mountain View Middle School, Principal Brian Kress was transferred to the district office where he is an administrative assistant in the finance department. Assistant Principal Todd Laruitsen has been moved to the principal position, and Lynette Carter has been hired as the assistant principal.
Carter taught special education for five years in Blackfoot and her husband teaches and coaches at Snake River High School. Lauritsen has served as assistant principal for several years.
At the Blackfoot Sixth Grade School, Brandon Farris has left the district and Deidre Taylor has been hired as the new principal. Taylor was raised in Rexburg and worked as an administrator for nine years in the Jefferson School District.
At Irving Kindergarten Center, Allysse Bingham is the new principal. J. Thayne has taken a job in the private sector. Bingham has taught for five years at Irving and will continue to teach an afternoon session of kindergarten. Her husband also teaches in Blackfoot.
There are numerous new teachers and staff members working in the Blackfoot School District. They include:
BHS: Jeremy Bingham (agriculture), Pat Bowers (special education), Jessica Petersen (math) and Yvonne Sebastian (math)
MVMS: Carly Christensen (social studies), Rhonda Wheelwright (math) and Lacey Humphreys (food service)
BSGS: Sarah Buck (6th grade)
Groveland: Kami Amrein (1st grade)
Ridge Crest: Sandra Christensen (4th grade) and Alicia Kepler (5th grade)
Fort Hall: Mary Jan Cottrell (special education), Juanita Farmer (2nd grade), Dara Stuart (kindergarten), Rebecca Hocking (2nd grade) and Jeanette Nelson (food service)
I.T. Stoddard: Layne Elison (4th grade) and Peggy Welsh (1st grade)
Wapello: Sarah Hale (4th grade)
Donald D. Stalker: Sarah Sorensen (1st grade) and Krystal Murdock (Title I)
Irving Kindergarten: Ralene Patten (kindergarten)