Four new members elected to Chamber board

BLACKFOOT — Four new board members were elected to the Blackfoot Chamber of Commerce this week.
The new members are Vern Murray of Vern's Radio
Shack of Blackfoot, Kathy Tauscher of Kathy & Company, Michelle Reay of First American Title and Davin Garlick of VanOrden, Lund and Cannon PLLC.
Their terms start Jan. 1.
"I love Blackfoot," said Murray. "I love being a part of Blackfoot.
"There's lots of potential here; lots of fun and growth," he said.
Murray is a past Chamber president in Pocatello.
"Radio Shack has been in Blackfoot 14 years in three locations," Murray said. "I'm excited to be part of the community; to be part of Blackfoot where my business is.
"It's important for members to get behind the Chamber because it spurs great growth within the community," Murray said.
"Hopefully the Chamber will bring in more members," said Tauscher. "The Chamber has been doing really awesome recently with good lunches and good business meetings.
"Hopefully, it stays going up from here," she said.
"It's important business owners interact and get to know each other," said Garlick. "It spurs growth in Blackfoot and Bingham County.
"The Chamber helps people grow their businesses bigger."
Reay, manager of First American, has been involved in the Chamber for the past four years.
"I have seen that the Chamber is absolutely growing and involving more people," Reay said. "There's a fun atmosphere."
"Participation is everything," she said. "I was involved in last year's golf tournament and that worked out really well.
"I want the Chamber to keep expanding; to get more businesses involved," said Reay.
With the addition of the four new board members, the Chamber board numbers 20.
Derek Preece is the past president. Shirley Brumfield is president. Echo Marshall is secretary; Leah Rigby is executive director. Laura Gramirez, Scott Reese, Julie Percy, Troy Simpson and Leonard Martin are the other board members.
Ex-officio members are Mayor Mike Virtue, Commissioner Whitney Manwaring and Bingham Economic Development Coordinator Butch Hulse.