Hansen is Distinguished Young Woman

THOMAS — Poise has been defined as grace under pressure.
Saturday night, 20 Snake River High School juniors displayed poise as they presented their talents, physical fitness and self-expression during the 2011 Distinguished Young Women (DYW) program at Snake River High School.
Hannah Hansen won this coveted title.
Hansen won a $2,000 scholarship for earning the 2011 Distinguished Young Woman title. In addition, she won $300 for scholastics, $300 for interview, $300 for fitness and $300 for self-expression.
First Alternate was Kelynn Williams won $1,700 for this position plus an additional $300 for her talent.
Second Alternate was Kassidy Peterson who won $1,450 for her finish. She also won $300 for Be Your Best Self, $300 for her talent and $300 for fitness.
The Spirit of Distinguished Young Women award is voted on by the girls themselves. Kira Jarman won a $350 scholarship for this award as well as a $300 scholarship for her scholastics.
In the Be Your Best Self category, each participant wrote an essay that was judged outside of Saturday night’s competition. Each of the five winners in this category won $300 scholarships.
Besides Peterson, other Be Your Best Self winners were Jenna DeGiulio, Macy Martin, Shakira Jenkins and Angelea Baird.
Carsey Kofford won a $300 scholarship for her scholastics.
In the interview section, Macy Martin and Lillis Hawker won $300 scholarships.
Jenna DeGuilio also won a $300 scholarship for her talent.
Shaneka Bono won a $300 scholarship for fitness.
In the self-expression category, each contestant drew a question from a hat. For 20 participants, there were 20 questions. Each participant had 24 hours to prepare their responses.
One question asked what have you learned from DYW. Kenzi Taylor said, “I’ve learned to be myself because everyone else is taken.”
Sydnee Robinson and Lillis Hawker won $300 for self-expression.
Other participants in Saturday’s competition were Nancy Nevarez, Elise Bevan, ShaNeill Thompson, Marlee Keller, Rebekah Williams, Devanie Redford and Kelsi Bone.
Individuals and local businesses sponsored the scholastic awards. Scholarships given out Saturday night totaled $11,500.
Among these young ladies, they have 33 sisters, 35 brothers, 12 nephews, 11 nieces and 0 grandchildren. Seven are the oldest in their families, eight are in the middle and five are the youngest in their families.
“My girls were wonderful,” said DYW chairwoman Sheila VanOrden. “It has been a joy to work with these girls; everyone is a winner.”
DYW was formerly known as America’s Junior Miss. The organization changed its name in June 2010. It is a scholarship, leadership and talent program.
Each participant is judged on the following scale:
° Scholastic—20 percent
° Interview—25 percent
° Talent—25 percent
° Fitness—15 percent
° Self-Expression—15 percent