Postseason honors come for a handful of county basketball players

BLACKFOOT — It has been less than a week since the 2013-14 boys basketball season ended and Firth raised the 2A championship trophy, but the postseason honors for the players on the teams that participated in the state tournament are starting to trickle in.
Six players from the three Bingham County state participants earned All-state honors as selected by and its broadcasters who called each game of the tournament live online last weekend.
Each of the three schools had a pair of players earning postseason honors, but Firth's Connor Burkhart was the only player to earn a first team nod.
After leading the Cougars to a first round win over Melba with 23 points and seven rebounds, the sophomore center scored 16 points and pulled down another seven rebounds in the Cougars 58-48 win over Declo in the 2A title game.
Braydon Adams was there only other Cougar selected and he earned second team honors.
At the 3A level both Shelley and Snake River had two players selected to the postseason teams, with the Russets Carter Cannon leading the way with a second team nod.
Cannon hit a big shot and some key free throws down the stretch as the Russets ended the defending champion Panthers season in the consolation round.
Teammate Dalton Nelson joined Cannon by earning a third team spot as did the Panthers Kade Harral.
Trey Albertson rounded out the county players with his spot on the honorable mention team.

2A All Tournament Team
1 Tagg Jeppesen North Fremont
2 Josh Dame Grangeville
3 Connor Burkhart Firth
4 Kyle Heward Declo
5 Riley Yamauchi Soda Springs

2nd Tournament Team
1 Braydon Adams Firth
2 Shane Hill North Fremont
3 Johnny Lancaster Wendell
4 Clayton Moore Declo
5 Chris Young Melba

Honorable Mention
1 Alex Swainston Wendell
2 Hayden Hanson Declo
3 Conner Drollinger North Star
4 Hunter Goodenough Soda Springs
5 Michael Wilson Grangeville
6 Cabbage Sandoval Wendell

3A All Tournament Team (First Team)
G/F Kade Crossland, Buhl
F Lane Sale, Homedale
F Caleb Oviedo, Homedale
G Logan Beard, Filer
G Hayden Eckert, Buhl

All Tournament (Second Team)
G Gus Colburn, Kellogg
G Tanner Kramer, Parma
G/F Carter Cannon, Shelley
F Tucker Gust, Kellogg
F Tim Fuller, Sugar-Salem

All Tournament (Third Team)
G Trey Lane, Homedale
G Kasey Crossland, Buhl
F Dalton Nelson, Shelley
G Kade Harral, Snake River
F Kaleb Whitlock, Filer

All Tournament (Honrable Mention)
G Trey Albertson, Snake River
G Cyrus Kidd, Sugar-Salem
G Dillon Lowder, Homedale
G Jesse Lambert, Kellogg
G Josh Shirley, Sugar-Salem