State Board of Education recognizes two Blackfoot schools

BLACKFOOT — Two Blackfoot schools have been recognized by the Idaho State Board of Education and will receive a Distinguished School or Additional Yearly Growth award for the 2010-2011 school year.
Blackfoot High School was one of 12 schools designated as a Distinguished School. To be designated a Distinguished School, a school must be in the top five percent of schools which make Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for two consecutive years, and reduce the gap in groups or sub-groups by at least 10 percent.
Fort Hall Elementary was one of eight schools to receive an Additional Yearly Growth Award.
To earn an Additional Yearly Growth Award, a school must make AYP two consecutive years and show an improvement of at least 10 percent in one of the designated groups or subgroups.
"I'm just extremely proud of the hard work the schools and students have done," Blackfoot School District Superintendent Scott Crane said.
Additional schools in Idaho named Distinguished Schools are: Harrison Elementary, Twin Falls; Desert Springs, Vallivue District, Caldwell; Rigby Jr. High; Lakevue Elementary, Vallivue District, Caldwell; Tyhee Elementary, Pocatello-Chubbuck District; Van Buren Elementary, Caldwell District; Skyview High School, Nampa District; Mountain View Elementary, Cassia Co. District, Burley; Fruitland Elementary, Fruitland District; Kimberly Elementary, Kimberly District; and Minico High School, Minidoka School District, Rupert.
Additional schools receiving Additional Yearly Growth Awards are: Prairie High School, Cottonwood District; Marsing High School, Marsing District; Filer High School, Filer District; Galileo Magnet Elementary School, Meridian District; Marsh Valley High School, Marsh Valley District; Council Jr-Sr High School, Council District; and Barbara Morgan Elementary, McCall-Donnelly District.